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MEMORANDUM:
TO: Marcus J. Molinaro, County Executive
FROM: Tames M. Fedorchak, County Attorney M

DATE: April 3, 2014

SUBJECT: Residential Energy Tax Exemption and Refund Issue
Our File No. G-1591

The following is the process for reinstating the residential energy tax exemption as set
forth in the New York State Tax Law and confirmed by counsel to the Department of Taxation
and Finance:

o The reinstatement of the exemption shall be done by resolution;

e The reinstatement can take effect only on the first day of a sales tax quarter;
namely, March 1, June 1, September 1, or December 1 of any given year;

o A certified copy of the resolution reinstating the exemption with the raised seal of
the Clerk of the Legislature must be mailed by certified or registered mail through
the United States Postal Service (overnight mail or private carrier is not allowed
by law) to the Commissioner of Taxation and Finance in Albany,

e The certified copy of the Resolution must be postmarked at least 90 days prior to
the effective date of the resolution or at least 30 days prior to the effective date if
there is a 90 day waiver request;

e The waiver request must be in writing directed to the Commissioner and it must
specifically ask that the Commissioner reduce the minimum 90 day notice period
of the exemption to take effect to a period of not less than 30 days for the
exemption to take effect;

¢ The Commissioner may grant the waiver if the Commissioner deems it consistent
with the Commissioner’s duties under Article 29 of the Tax Law.

For the instatement of the exemption to take effect on June 1, the certified copy of the resolution
along with the waiver request must be postmarked no later than May 2, 2014 as described above,

The issue has been raised as to whether the County can refund tax revenues received.




1 have discussed this matter with counsel to the State Department of Taxation and Finance who
has advised that the County may not make such refunds.

Section 1139 of the New York State Tax Law provides that a refund of sales tax is allowable
only if the tax was erroneously, illegally or unconstitutionally paid.

The County properly repealed its exemption from sales tax for residential energy effective March
1, 2014. The charge of the sales tax on any purchases made on or after March 1* is a proper
charge. The New York State Commissioner of Taxation and Finance administers the County’s
general sales tax imposed pursuant to the New York State Tax Law. Accordingly, only the
Commissioner is authorized to make a refund of the County’s sales tax and refunds may only be
made if it were found that the tax had been erroneously, illegally or unconstitutionally imposed.

The County, therefore, has no authority to refund its sales tax paid on residential energy and the
Commissioner has no basis as a matter of law to make such a refund.



